Overview and Outcome of Preliminary Feasibility Study (Completed)

Background of EFLS

EFLS Alignment Reserve in Kai Tak OZP

The Kai Tak Outline Zoning Plan, approved in 2007, contains a provision for an elevated rail-based Environmentally Friendly Linkage System (EFLS) (alignment reserve shown in the figure on the right), which the Civil Engineering and Development Department investigated with a preliminary feasibility study (PFS) commissioned in 2009.

The project gained extra impetus and importance when the Chief Executive announced in his 2011-12 Policy Address that Kowloon East would become a new alternative central business district (CBD), to meet growing demand for high-quality office space to sustain Hong Kong’s economic growth and strengthen our global competitiveness, and that the Government was drawing up development strategies for the district. One of these strategies concerned building an environmentally friendly linkage system through the entire district to enhance connectivity within Kowloon East.

For this Energizing Kowloon East initiative to succeed, reliable, efficient, comfortable, green connections within Kowloon East and with the rest of Hong Kong are essential. In the long term, the EFLS will form the core of an integrated multi-modal linkage system for Kowloon East that also features improved pedestrian facilities, green road-based transport and the MTR, to provide the CBD with the world-class connectivity.

 

Preliminary EFLS Proposal under Preliminary Feasibility Study

Preferred Alignment

• Preferred Alignment Option

In response to the first stage of the public consultation, some of the proposed locations of EFLS stations have been refined to avoid overlapping service catchment areas with the Shatin to Central Link and to enhance public access to the commercial developments at the Kowloon Bay business area. The preferred EFLS alignment is shown in the figure on the right.

Subject to the proposed detailed feasibility study to address the main issues raised in the public consultation, the recommended solution for the EFLS is an elegant elevated 9-kilometre, 12-station monorail running on parallel tracks from the MTR Kowloon Bay Station through the Kai Tak Development, and across a new Kwun Tong Transportation Link above the entrance of the Kwun Tong Typhoon Shelter to the MTR Kwun Tong Station.


• Train System

Taipei Automatic People Mover (APM)

Taipei Automatic People Mover (APM)

After reviewing many options, including rubber-tyred automatic people mover (APM), monorail, trolley bus, modern tram, cable liner shuttle, maglev and personal rapid transit systems in early studies, the two options considered most suitable were an elevated APM and an elevated monorail, with both having similar capital and maintenance costs.

The APM was more manoeuvrable and better able to negotiate tight corners to access the congested hinterland; and was more flexible and convenient for a multi-line design involving track sharing at junctions, when compared to the monorail. However, its slab structure guideway was much bulkier and more visually intrusive.

Dubai Monorail

Dubai Monorail

A simple alignment with a single service line in each direction without track sharing and sharp corners to overcome, favoured the monorail. The slim supporting structures of the monorail, causing less visual impact and impairment to daylight and ventilation, combined with its high tourism appeal made a monorail system the recommended option for the EFLS project. A two-car monorail train with a capacity of about 250 passengers would meet the forecast passenger demand in Kowloon East. The station design will build in flexibility for further expansion of the monorail to a three-car train to cope with potential increased in traffic demand in the future.

 

• Forecast Patronage, Financial Performance & Economic Return

The forecast daily patronage in 2031 is about 200,000 and the capital cost, at 2010 prices, is broadly estimated to be $12 billion.

The financial and economic returns of the proposed EFLS would not be satisfactory if treated solely as transport infrastructure. The anticipated revenue would not meet the capital cost as well as operating and maintenance expenses. We have broadly estimated that if both the capital cost and the subsequent replacement costs for electrical/mechanical works and rolling stock every 15-20 years are to be borne by the Government, the annual revenue could largely cover the running cost of the EFLS. The economic internal rate of return over 50 years of operation is estimated to be around +1%.

However, the above estimate for patronage, financial performance and economic return for the EFLS is conservative and does not take into account additional journeys generated by a revitalised Kowloon East with many diverse new attractions and activities.

Kowloon East is likely to be far more vibrant than a traditional business district with al fresco dining, entertainment and recreation, as well as the multi-purpose sports complex, a huge range of open spaces suitable for festivals and expos, and the recently announced Kai Tak Fantasy – a world-class tourism and entertainment hub that alone could increase EFLS daily patronage by about 10%.

 

• Key Advantages of an Elevated Monorail

Small footprint at road level – Supporting columns for the monorail can be located in central dividers of existing roads or roadside open spaces to minimise competing for road space with other for road users.

Reliable and safe service – A dedicated elevated corridor is free from congestion and potential conflicts with road users and pedestrians to offer both safety and reliability.

Convenient MTR interchange – Connecting at the same level as the elevated MTR Kwun Tong and Kowloon Bay stations enhances inter-district connectivity with quick and easy transfers to the MTR system.

Enhanced tourism appeal – An elevated monorail gives passengers spectacular views of the Victoria Harbour and the beautiful landscape and iconic structures of the Kai Tak Development to increase the district’s appeal to tourists. A well-designed monorail can also become an iconic element of the district’s branding and visual identity.

Monorail at future Metro Park, Kai Tak Development (photomontage)

Monorail at future Metro Park, Kai Tak Development (photomontage)

 


• Implementation Programme

Based on the preliminary feasibility study, the EFLS is expected to be commissioned around 2023. However, this depends on a number of factors, including the pace at which the Kai Tak Development and the CBD progress; the programme for relocating the existing Kowloon Bay vehicle examination centre site to enable construction of the EFLS maintenance depot; and the schedule of other infrastructure projects, such as the Shatin to Central Link. The detailed feasibility study will review the implementation programme of the EFLS.

Under the PFS, the Civil Engineering and Development Department conducted a two-stage public consultation exercise on that proposal between early 2012 and early 2014. The outcomes of the previous two-stage public consultation are available in the links below:

Stage 1 Public Consultation Outcome under PFS in 2012
Stage 2 Public Consultation Outcome under PFS in 2013-2014

To take forward the proposed EFLS, we had commenced a detailed feasibility study (DFS) in October 2015 to address the various public concerns and to draw up a scheme which would meet all statutory and government requirements and would be generally accepted by the stakeholders.

Skip To Content
環保連接系統
字型大小 小 中 大

研究概覽

研究背景

《啟德分區計劃大綱圖》內環保連接系統預留用地

於2007年核准的《啟德分區計劃大綱圖》已載有擬議鐵路環保連接系統(請參閱右圖),土木工程拓展署並於2009年就此進行初步的可行性研究。

行政長官在《二零一一至一二年施政報告》中宣布,我們必須開拓另一個核心商業區 — 九龍東,以滿足香港經濟增長對優質辦公室日益殷切的需求,提升我們的全球競爭力。此外,政府正擬備的策略包括考慮以環保連接系統貫通全區,以加強九龍東的區內連繫。這倡議突顯了擬議環保連接系統的重要性,並為此項目注入新的動力。

要成功實現「起動九龍東」計劃,為九龍東區内(包括啟德發展區、九龍灣和觀塘商貿區)及與香港其他地區之間提供可靠、快捷、舒適及環保的連繫是關鍵的要素。環保連接系統將擔當九龍東區內綜合多模式連接系統的骨幹角色,配合區內的優化行人設施、路面環保交通工具和港鐵服務,為核心商業區提供世界級的連繫。

建議的環保連接系統方案

• 可取的走線方案

優化走線圖

綜合第一階段公眾諮詢活動蒐集的意見,為避免與未來的沙田至中環線(沙中線)的服務範圍重疊,以及為九龍灣商貿區提供更佳的服務,我們已對環保連接系統的部分車站位置作出修訂。請參閱右圖所示的優化走線圖或主頁的環保連接系統動畫。

我們建議的環保連接系統方案,是一條時尚的雙向高架單軌鐵路,走線全長約9公里,共12個站,以港鐵九龍灣站為起點,穿越啟德發展區後,取道橫跨觀塘避風塘入口的新建觀塘連接橋,最終接駁至港鐵觀塘站。這個建議方案須待擬議的詳細可行性研究妥善處理了公眾諮詢活動蒐集所得的各類關注之後,方能確定。

• 列車系統

台北捷運系統

台北捷運系統

研究已初步探討了多種類型的系統,包括配備橡膠輪胎的高架行人捷運系統(簡稱「捷運系統」)、單軌鐵路、無軌電車、軌道現代電車、穿梭纜車、磁浮列車,及個人快捷交通系統。研究認爲捷運系統和單軌鐵路均適用於九龍東,初步估計兩者的建設和維修費用相若。

與載客量相若的單軌列車比較,捷運列車應付急彎位所需的迴轉半徑較小,較易在擠迫的腹地區域行駛,共用路軌時亦較單軌列車靈活方便。但是,捷運系統需要建造板式高架橋以裝置導軌,其體積龐大,對景觀影響較大。

迪拜單軌鐵路

迪拜單軌鐵路

鑑於建議的環保連接系統走線非常簡單,每個方向只有單一路線而無須共用路軌和克服急彎,令單軌鐵路更爲可取。單軌鐵路的支撐結構輕巧,對景觀所造成的影響較微,並對日光和通風的阻擋較少。加上單軌鐵路在香港具有獨特性,能加強旅遊的吸引力;因此,該研究建議環保連接系統採用單軌鐵路。單軌列車採用兩卡車廂,可載乘客約250人。此外,車站設計上已容納彈性, 讓單軌列車可於日後因應乘客量的增加而調節至三卡車廂 。

• 乘客量、財務表現及經濟回報的初步估算

預計2031年環保連接系統的每日乘客量可達20萬人次。初步估算,環保連接系統的建設費用大概為120億港元(按2010年的價格計算)。

如果僅以一般運輸基礎設施的角度審視,環保連接系統的財務及經濟回報並不合乎理想。預計收益可能不足以支付建設、營運及維修保養的費用。如政府承擔建設費用和其後約每15至20年置換機電設備和列車的開支,按初步估算,每年的收入大致上可應付環保連接系統的營運開支。以50年營運期計算,環保連接系統項目的可量化經濟內部回報率約為+1%。

然而,上述環保連接系統的乘客量、財務表現和經濟回報均為保守估算。活化後的九龍東將匯聚多姿多采的景點和活動,而有關活動將帶來顯著的交通需求。上述潛在的客量增幅,尚未在連接系統的客量預測中反映。

匯集了露天食肆、娛樂設施、休閒場所及體育園區的九龍東核心商業區將比傳統商業區更富活力姿采。此外,啟德發展區的大幅休憩用地可供舉辦各式各樣的活動和展覽,例如香港美酒佳餚巡禮、工展會和香港食品嘉年華等,加上最近宣布啟動的一個世界級旅遊及娛樂中樞⎾飛躍啟德⏌,我們粗略估計這些大型活動可令環保連接系統的乘客量增加約一成。

• 高架單軌鐵路的主要優點

佔地較少 – 單軌鐵路的支撐結構可在現有道路的中央分隔帶上或在路旁空間興建,以盡量減少與其他道路使用者爭用路面空間。

服務安全可靠 – 享有高架專用通道,為乘客提供既可靠又安全的服務,因其完全不受道路交通擠塞影響,亦不會與其他道路使用者和行人有任何潛在衝突。

換乘港鐵快捷方便 – 與港鐵觀塘站和九龍灣站同為高架設計,同層面車站連結將令換乘港鐵更方便,跨區連繫更緊密。

提升旅遊吸引力 – 乘搭高架單軌鐵路可以飽覽迷人的維多利亞港、優美的景觀和啟德發展區的地標建築,大大提升該區對旅客的吸引力。精心設計的單軌列車將成為九龍東品牌和視覺形象的獨特標誌。

單軌列車途經啟德都會公園(電腦模擬圖)

單軌列車途經啟德都會公園(電腦模擬圖)

• 推行時間表

預計環保連接系統大約可於2023年啟用,但亦視乎擬議詳細可行性研究的結果,以及多項其他因素,包括啟德發展區和九龍東核心商業區的發展步伐,遷置現有九龍灣驗車中心的時間表,以便騰空地方興建連接系統的維修車廠,以及沙中線等其他基建項目的進展。

回頁頂
 
2013 © | 重要告示 | 私隠政策修訂日期:2013年10月28日
遵守2A級無障礙圖示,萬維網聯盟(W3C)- 無障礙網頁倡議(WAI) Web Content Accessibility Guidelines 2.0無障礙網頁嘉許計劃